Recognizing the achievements of South Korean independent films in 2016, the jury of the 4th Wildflower Awards decided to spread the love this year by awarding a wide range of films instead of rewarding a single winner. The winners were revealed at a ceremony held in Seoul on April 12, merely days after its nominees were announced.

Schoolyard bullying drama The World of Us took home the night’s top prize. However, it was the only prize out of its five nominations – including two for its two young leads in the Best New Performer category.

Noir drama The Boys Who Cried Wolf was the top winner with two awards – Best Actor and Best Screenplay.

Kim Soo-hyun took home the Best Director award for his satire Beaten Black and Blue, though it lost out the Best New Performer award to Our Love Story’s Lee Sang-hee.

Despite snagging six nominations, Lee Joon-ik’s acclaimed biopic Dong-ju: The Portrait of a Poet (동주) was completely shut out. Jung Ji-woo’s Fourth Place (4등) also went home empty-handed, despite four nominations (including Best Film and Best Screenplay).

Veteran actor Jeon Moo-song received an Appreciation Award for his work in comedy Curtain Call. Indie production company Gwanghwamun Cinema also received a Special Achievement Award.

The Wildflower Awards was established in 2014 by a group of local film critics, led by Darcy Paquet. Eligible films must have a budget of less than ₩1 billion (US$876,000) and received a theatrical release in 2016.

4th Wildflower Award winners

Grand Prize: The World Of Us (우리들)

Best Director (Narrative Feature): Kim Soo-hyun (Beaten Black and Blue 우리 손자 베스트)

Best Director (Documentary): Kim Jeong-geun (The Island of Shadows 그림자들의 )

Best Actress: Jeong Ha-dam (Steel Flower 스틸 플라워)

Best Actor: Park Jong-hwan (The Boys Who Cried Wolf 양치기들)

Best New Director (Narrative Feature): Kim Dae-hwan (End of Winter 철원기행)

Best New Director (Documentary): Lee Dong-ha (Weekends 위켄즈)

Best Screenplay: Kim Jin-hwang (The Boys Who Cried Wolf)

Best Cinematography: Kim Byung-jeong (Alone 혼자)

Best Supporting Performer: Choi Moo-sung (Snow Paths 설행눈길을 걷다)

Best New Performer: Lee Sang-hee (Our Love Story 연애담)

Appreciation Award: Jeon Mu-song (Curtain Call 커튼콜)

Special Achievement Award: Gwanghwamun Cinema